Governor Cuomo has formally requested that the federal government grant a Major Disaster Declaration for eight counties affected by flash flooding during severe storms in August. A Major Disaster Declaration would result in financial assistance from the federal government. Assistance includes funding for emergency protective measures, debris removal, and repairs to public buildings and infrastructure. The eight counties included in the request are: Broome, Chemung, Chenango, Columbia, Delaware, Schuyler, Seneca and Tioga. The FEMA Public Assistance Program provides reimbursement for local governments after a disaster has been declared for activities such as debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair and rebuilding of publicly-owned infrastructure that was damaged including roads, schools, bridges, parks, hospitals, police stations, fire houses, water and waste water treatment facilities and other public facilities.