Listen Live

2020 Leadership Tioga Starts Community-Based Classes

Leadership Tioga held its kick-off session on January 8th at the new Terra Cotta Event Center located in Historic Owego.

Provided by Tioga Chamber of Commerce

The Leadership Tioga Program, run by the Tioga County Chamber of Commerce is committed to inspiring and connecting participants to services in our community by promoting personal growth, leadership development, networking, and skill building. Various class locations throughout the County give participants the opportunity to learn more about what Tioga County has to offer. Dynamic speakers discuss topics ranging from professional leadership, volunteerism, performance management, public safety, and human services to name just a few.

The class heard from speaker Robert Williams on the importance of community and volunteerism.  Facilitator Jill Teeter introduced the class project for this year which will include community service for a non-profit organization in Tioga County.  The class was provided with a comprehensive list of organizations, agencies, and groups in Tioga County to choose from.  Upon completion of their community service, they will be expected to give a class report on the details of their experience.

This year’s class has 22 attendees from the area and includes a student from Owego Free Academy. “We are excited to have another Owego Free academy student with us this year; having the younger generation at the table brings a fresh new perspective and viewpoint to our discussions,” said Ms. Teeter.

Please contact the Tioga Chamber at 607-687-2020 or by email at [email protected] for more information.

Class of 2020 Leadership Tioga Participants: Ian Barrett-Sargent, Heather Davis, Glenda Ford, Gary Frey, Vincent Gennett, Megan Griffiths, Abbey Hendrickson, Kylie Holochak, Michele Hughston, Krista Kelley, Julie Kipling, Matt Kisloski, David Lemmon, Emily Mantei, Michelle Pelton, Meredith Sagor, Daniel Scherrer, Lynn Schiess, Rebecca Staudt, Gregory Tifft, Michelle Vandebogart, Isaac Weber.