Trevor Bayne Wins Daytona 500 in Second Cup Start


Trevor Bayne has won the 53rd Daytona 500 in his second ever Spint Cup start.
In a race that had a record number of caution flags, 16, Bayne held off much more experienced drivers for the win.
Carl Edwards, Bobby Labonte, and Kurt Busch were making a run at him on the second Green-White-Checker finish.
Edwards finished second.
David Gilliland, a drive that few of the big names were willing to draft with, finished third.
Bobby Labonte was fourth; Labonte was the Winston Cup champion in 2000.
Regan Smith from Cato, New York, near Syracuse ran close to the front the entire day and finished 7th.
The Wood Brothers, a legend of old time Nascar racing, won the 500 for the first time since David Pearson won it for them in 1976.
Yesterday, Bayne drove his Nationwide car without a sponsor on the hood.
Bayne does not have sponsorship for a full Sprint Cup campaign; that may change after today.
Yesterday was also his 20th birthday.
The race had a 17 car wreck on the 30th lap that ended the winning chances for Jimmie Johnson, Jeff Gordon, David Reutimann, and others.
The drivers, according to Jeff Gordon, were too aggressive too early in the race.
The middle of the pack often had tandem teams three wide.
The top ten were:
1 Trevor Bayne
2 Carl Edwards
3 David Gilliland
4 Bobby Labonte
5 Kurt Busch
6 Juan Montoya
7 Regan Smith
8 Kyle Busch
9 Paul Menard
10 Mark Martin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *