Owego, N.Y. – Early Owego Antique Center is expanding!
Located at 43-45 Lake Street in the Village of Owego inside the former J.J. Newberry’s Building, the Early Owego Antiques Center will begin live auctions in the lower level of the building with the first one scheduled for 2:00 p.m., Saturday, February 25 with a preview beginning at 12:00 p.m. This expansion into live auctions complements the existing business model and builds on a long history of professional service in the auction industry.
The Mead Family has extensive experience in the auction method of asset realization; Colonel Jerry Mead founded Mead & Sons Auctioneers in Tioga County in 1946. With his sixty-four years of experience on and in front of the auction block, Colonel Jerry Mead’s son, Jim Mead, will lead the team. Joining Mead will be his son James Mead and their associate, Lucas Kaczynski, a native of Maine, New York. A third-generation auctioneer, the younger Mead graduated from the Mendenhall School of Auctioneering in 2014. Kaczynski is a graduate of World Wide College of Auctioneering, located in West Des Moines, Iowa. Kaczynski recently served an apprenticeship in North Carolina, where he gained experience in online listing and internet sales management.
With nearly thirty years of professional service in the auction industry, Fran Antalek will be responsible for overall management of the auction floor. The renewal of the company’s active role in live auctions coincides with the 75th anniversary of Mead & Sons Auctioneers and fills a gap that formed as a result of the profoundly disruptive global pandemic. According to Jim Mead, co-owner of Early Owego Antique Center, “We have noticed many changes in our business sector during and since Covid. A significant victim has been the live community commission sale.”
For more information, visit earlyowego.com or contact Jim Mead at (607) 725-6833.