NASCAR Considering Changes in Point Structure


According to reports, NASCAR is considering significant changes to the point structure for 2011.
One idea discussed is to award 43 points for a win, 42 for second, etc. with the top ten drivers advancing to the Chase.
A second change would address the situation Jamie McMurray had in 2010. Despite winning three races including the Daytona 500 and the Brickyard 400, perhaps the two most prestigious races on the calendar, McMurray did not make the Chase.
The final two drivers to advance to the Chase would be based on wins. In 2010 Jeff Gordon, Jeff Burton, and Matt Kenseth made the Chase in 2010 without winning a race.
The current structure awards consistency without considering that a win is much harder to achieve than a runner up position. Making a win more valuable could also improve the racing itself.
No word yet on when the final structure will be announced.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *